Helliconia Spring (and) Helliconia Summer (and) Helliconia Winter.

By: Aldiss, Brian W.

Price: £85.00

Quantity: 1 available

Three volumes: complete set of the Helliconia sf trilogy.

''three massive, thoroughly researched, deeply through-composed tales set on a planet whose primary sun is in an eccentric orbit around another star, so that the planet experiences both small seasons and an eon-long Great Year, during the course of which radical changes afflict the human-like inhabitants. Cultures are born in spring, flourish over the summer, and die with the onset of the generations-long winter. A team from an exhausted Terran civilization observes the spectacle from orbit. Throughout all three volumes, BWA pays homage to various high moments of pulp sf, rewriting several classic action climaxes into a dark idiom that befits Helliconia. As an exercise in world-building, the Helliconia books lie unassailably at the heart of modern sf'' (John Clute/Encyclopedia of SF).

Title: Helliconia Spring (and) Helliconia Summer (and) Helliconia Winter.

Author Name: Aldiss, Brian W.

Categories: Other,

Edition: First editions (& 1st printings).

Publisher: Jonathan Cape: London.: 1982 - 1985.

ISBN Number: 0224018434

ISBN Number 13: 9780224018432

Binding: Hardcovers.

Book Condition: Page edges browned, else fine copies in fine dustjackets (as new).

Seller ID: 00571